Book Now

Guest Reviews for Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Customer Feedback for Five-Star Stays in the Algarve

Penina Hotel & Golf Resort is proud to offer outstanding 5-star luxury, great golf and attentive staff to all who stay here... but don't just take our word for it. Below you will find a number of reviews submitted to us by email from some of our guests

You can also take a look at what people say about us on Trip Advisor here.

We would be grateful if all our guests can take the time to give us feedback, either on Trip Advisor, or via one of the forms available at the hotel. Alternately, please email your guest feedback or review to penina@jjwhotels.com.

Guest Reviews: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

J.M. – UK – Individual Guest Review – submitted to Hotel by e-mail 31.03.2015

"Just a quick E mail to say thank you to you and the rest of the staff at Penina for the wonderful time we had over the last two weeks at Penina.
Both of us would like to say the Wine and Food Pairing Dinner on the 27th was a most enjoyable night with excellent food and wine and hope you continue to do it again each month.
Looking forward seeing you all again in the near future."

J.W. – UK – Individual Guest Review – submitted to Hotel by e-mail 11.03.2015

"Firstly we would like to thank you and all your colleagues for a most wonderful vacation. Similar to our first visit, you make us feel so welcome, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you and I am already planning our next visit!
I support Trip Advisor and will most certainly be adding Penina to “my best vacation list”
Thank you so much.
My kindest regards"

R.Y. - UK – Individual Guest Review – submitted to Hotel by e-mail 09.03.2015

"All 7 of us agreed that we had a great time at Penina. We have been coming to you now for about 10 years and the standard is as good as ever.
Again, thank you for your help."

D.P. – IE - Individual Guest Review – submitted to Hotel by e-mail 15.02.2015

"Just a quick note to say thank you for booking our Valentines dinner last night, we had a really lovely evening, the food was delicious, our compliments to the chef and all the team they made the night a very memorable one, as always Penina Hotel has excelled again.
Kind regards"

C.P. – UK – Individual Guest Review – submitted to Hotel by e-mail – 11.01.2015

"Hello ,
We had the most amazing views out over the course and the countryside. All the staff have been so kind and helpful. It really does make a difference.
Once again thank you to you all and we wish you a Happy New Year."

J.H. – Portugal – 14.12.2014

“Voltei mais uma vez ao Penina para a grande qualidade do serviço proposto: Simpatia dos funcionários, conforto dos quartos, pequeno almoço de grande qualidade. Fica a poucos minutos das praias de Portimão.”

A.F. – UK – Individual Guest Review – submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 10.11.2014

"Hi, We are back home again after another lovely stay at Penina. Of course we enjoy the golf but more important is the kind and friendly welcome we always receive from you and your colleagues. Thank you.
We hope to visit you again in the new year – possibly in March. Meanwhile best wishes.
Kind regards"

S.R. – UK - Individual Guest Review – submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 31.10.2014

"We returned home last week after another very enjoyable holiday at Penina. Please pass on our thanks to all your colleagues.
We enjoyed it so much that we are already planning to return early next May 2015.
Best wishes"

V.D. - Ireland - Group Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 20.10.2014

"Hi, thank you very much for all your help in organising our 3 Day Golf Package last weekend. All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and the ladies were very impressed. We really enjoyed it. Looking forward to our next trip. "

O.B. - UK - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 11.08.2014

"Following another very enjoyable stay at Penina, together with our friends, I would like to thank you for the way that you were able to allocate the accommodation for my wife and I along the lines that we had requested. We were very impressed with the quality of food and service that we received in the Grill restaurant, which we visited on several occasions. This will certainly be repeated on any future stays at Penina. Very best wishes"

J.D. - Ireland - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 10.08.2014

"Forgive me for not writing to you ages ago to thank you so very much for yet another wonderful holiday. We all had the best time and just loved every minute of our week. Everything was just great and the children had the best time as did all of us grown ups !!!!! Hopefully we will return again next year as it is all so very special. Thank you and all of your truly wonderful staff for making us all so welcome and for giving us the best holiday. Kind regards"

J.P. - PT - Comentários de cliente Individual - Enviado por e-mail. 09.07.2014

"Bom Dia, gostaria de manifestar a nossa satisfação durante a nossa estadia no Penina, onde uma vez mais fomos muito bem acolhidos.O Quarto que nos foi atribuído, assim como as refeicões, tanto no Grill como no restaurante Arlecchino foram do nosso inteiro agrado, não esquecendo a amabilidade de todos com quem convivemos.O nosso muito obrigado"

C.S. - UK - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 01.07.2014

"I would be grateful if you could pass on my thanks to all staff at Penina. Our two week holiday with family and friends was a great success. As always your staff were friendly, polite, and very efficient. A special thank you to yourself, for the extra time you took to make sure my daughter and her young child were well looked after. Regards"

D.R. - UK - Group Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 23.06.2014

"Hello everyone at the hotel, I have just returned from a 5 day break. I must tell you I brought a party of 12 persons there, everyone in my party thought it was the most wonderful experience we encountered. We have been going to many hotels in the 20 years we were formed and your hotel tops the list by a long long way. The staff in every department made us feel at ease. The dining in the hotel was superb and a special word of thanks to Le Grill manager he was a fantastic ambassador for you. Once again the Sir Henry Cotton Course was fantastic and also the golf staff were brilliant. We will be regular visitors to both the hotel and golf. Thank you. "

B.K - DE - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 13.06.2014

"Hi, had the best golf lessons with the best teacher ever in Penina; improved quite a lot. Was today first time playing a round back home; after a few times on the range. Still not best friend with the rescue but was quite good today with the irons and drive. Best wishes"

H.W. - UK - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 21.05.2014

"Hi, once again, we had an amazing time and it was great to see all the friendly faces of the staff throughout the hotel and the golf shop. It really is remarkable how so many staff have been there since l first started coming in 2005!! Everything was perfect for us and the staff could not have done any more for us!! And this year, other than a shower for an hour when we were changing to go out, the weather was also perfect! Many thanks for organising everything so well for us - we always look forward to seeing everyone! The service we received in the Grill Room on our last evening was exceptional so please convey my personal thanks to the staff and also to the ladies in the golf shop - they always have a smile for me!! Once again - many thanks for all your help! Regards"

A.R. - UK - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 06.05.2014

"Hi, I'm emailing you just to say how fantastic everything was for our recent stay to celebrate my Dad's 80th birthday. It was 34 years since we last visited when Henry Cotton was around but the staff were equally friendly and the hotel, golf courses and facilities still first class. Many thanks for the birthday cake for my Dad in the Grill Restaurant - he didn't expect this and was a lovely surprise for us both. Overall it was a very nostalgic, memorable visit which we'll never forget. Feel free to use this testament. Hope to see you again. Kind regards"

I.J. - N. Ireland - Group Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 05.05.2014

"We are just home from our Golf visit to Penina Golf Resort last week, and the group of 12 from N. Ireland had a great time. The venue is fantastic and with the excellent staff in all departments who helped to make our trip so memorable from the hotel reservation team to the very nice people who looked after our bags and shoes. The group said the facilities and the breakfasts where by far the best we have experienced. The Golf course is one of the best and a great challenge to all handicap golfers, we have been fortunate to have played all the major golf courses in the Algarve over the last 13 years coming to Portugal. There is a number of groups from our club who go to Portugal each year and we will be recommending them to give Penina Golf resort a try. Best regards"

A.B. - England - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 13.03.2014

"We had a wonderful stay with you, at Penina. Whilst I had played the golf course about 10 years ago I had never stayed at the hotel and it very much lived up to the very good reputation we had heard about.
The food and service was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome.
Both the hotel and golf staff were all very helpful and friendly and always had a smile on their faces which does make such a difference!
Very many thanks for all your help too, it was very much appreciated.
We very much look forward to coming to stay again soon.
Kind regards, A.B."

G.C. - Scotland - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 10.03.2014

"I would like to reaffirm my appreciation of all of your staff at the hotel, I would particularly mention Anthony and Mariana. The service was excellent, always polite and with a smile - your staff are a real asset to you and the hotel.
I look forward to coming again to Penina.
Best wishes, G.C."

A.W. - UK - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 20.02.2014

"Thanks for your greeting. The commemoration of our joint birthday was indeed special! We wish to thank you and all the staff at the Penina for making that possible.
As you know we have, for many years, returned to the hotel and this is largely due to the attitude of people in all departments from reception through restaurants to housekeeping and, not least of all, the staff in the golf shop and on the golf course. We both enjoy playing on your excellent Championship course and this year was no exception. Sadly, due to the poor weather in England, we have not been able to play any golf at home since our visit! I'm sure we will be visiting again.
Best Regards, A.W."

P.L. - UK - Individual Guest Review - submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 12.02.2014

"Hello,
Thank you for your e-mail, as always we enjoyed our stay. Good Golf, Good Food ,Good Staff very friendly and helpful, high standards. Looking forward to returning Regards, P.L."

N.A. - GB - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 06.02.2014

"Hi, Hope you are well. .... I just wanted to say a massive thank you to the whole team at Penina, you delivered everything we asked for and nothing was ever a problem for any of the team and the food was amazing! I missed not having an omelette and Pastel de nata for breakfast this morning! Best Wishes, N.A."

J.W. - UK - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 31.12. 2013

"We are now settling back in at home following our stay with the 'Penina Family' at Christmas. Both myself and Sarah had a fantastic week with superb company, first class service and some great weather. Christmas in the sun is always difficult to imagine but we really enjoyed it and I can assure you we will be there again for Christmas 2014!
Please pass on our thanks and congratulations to all the staff but the Head Chef deserves a special mention. Food across the restaurants was up to the usual high standards but two things stood out for both of us. Turbot served with a Hollandaise sauce in the Grill on Christmas Eve and the Lobster Bisque in Sagres on Christmas night were truly memorable and worthy of any Michelin restaurant. Please covey our gratitude and appreciation."

J.L. - DE - Individual Guest Review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 12.11. 2013

"Dear Penina Staff,
We just finished a lovely week at the Penina Golf Resort and returned to the cold in Germany. Here some reflections on our stay:
We are newbies in golf, so the Penina was recommended by some club mates from the Rottal, the Club is close to the famous Bad Griesbach Golf resort you might know. As we are high handycapers it was very important to find a place with training courses and a well run academy. We were pleased by the friendliness of the staff at the Proshop that helped us to find the proper pro and a 5 days academy training. The driving range etc. were excellent, we haven't seen better training facilities so far.
We were lucky to have training with a famous pro, Mr. Jose Marcelino that really did everything to get us into the game and cared for us even after the lessons. His teaching was a joy and we improved our game substantially. Recommendation!
The Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the diner and especially the breakfast was something we were looking forward to every day. The atmosphere was very relaxed and everybody showed a smile and had a helping hand if we needed it. So in conclusion we will highly recommend the Penina to our friends and will surely return in the near future."

J.A. - PT - Individual Guest review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 30.10. 2013

"Não podíamos deixar de agradecer a toda a equipa do hotel, pelo excelente fim de semana que nos proporcionaram, pelos dois magníficos dias de golfe e a si especialmente pela sua amabilidade, simpatia e pela lição de história do hotel, que muito admirámos. Como clientes do hotel há vários anos, ainda mais vontade teremos de voltar novamente. Obrigado e até breve"

R.A. - IE - Individual Guest review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 29.10. 2013

"I am pleased to advise that our group has booked again for Penina in October 2014. The decision was even easier this year as the whole group felt our 2013 experience was best ever. This is in no small part due to your efforts and support in easing the process and all the staff for making us feel welcome. Thanks again."

A.W. - UK - Individual Guest review - Submitted to Hotel by e-mail. 25.10. 2013

"We had a super holiday as we expected with great weather. Would you please pass on our thanks to all the staff at Penina who, as we have come to expect, were extremely polite, welcoming, courteous and helpful. It is no surprise that Penina has such a faithful and loyal clientele. Funds permitting we could well be back! Regards"